Liz: 4.5 out of 5 stars

the-one-i-love

The One I Love (2014) directed by Charlie McDowell

Another day, another Mark Duplass movie. Omar and I kept seeing this movie pop up on Netflix, but we never got around to watching it. I remember Omar saying “the thumbnail looks like a painting; it looks creepy.” After seeing it pop up on reddit multiple times, I decided to go ahead and watch it.. and I’m so glad I did.

Quick summary: Married couple (Mark Duplass and Elisabeth Moss) is in a rut and their therapist (Ted Danson) sends them to a house for a couple’s retreat. After settling in, they individually check out the property’s guest house and strange things begin to happen to them. (It almost sounds similar to Creep but they’re not at all similar haha).

I absolutely loved this movie. Maybe I haven’t seen enough films, but the concept/story here was so unique and refreshing to me. The Netflix summary was vague to me and I wasn’t quite sure what it was really about, so I was surprised and really excited when I started figuring out which direction this movie was going. The little twist that happens early into the film was really original for me, which I appreciated.

I also liked the pairing of Mark Duplass and Elisabeth Moss. I could really sense their strained relationship and that they had kind of reached that point where they were almost at the end and were almost desperate to try something to bring back the magic. Their situation, conversations, and feelings were very real for me as well. I guess I would categorize this as an unconventional, strange love comedy.. but I don’t think that does it much justice because I thought it way more complex and clever.

The_One_I_Love_Screenshot_1

Note to self: Don’t go on couple’s retreat.

(mild spoiler here maybe, but it isn’t too bad)

Though I wasn’t quite a fan of Sophie (Elisabeth Moss), I definitely sympathized with her actions and decisions. Ethan (Mark Duplass) seems like a really nice, innocent and caring husband who on the surface seemed to be doing more work than Sophie to rekindle their marriage. However, I had to keep reminding myself that they had hit a rough patch recently as a result of his actions, so I suppose if I put myself in Sophie’s shoes, I’d understand.

In the end, I gave this movie 4.5 out of 5 stars, just because the ending was so ambiguous and also because some of my questions just weren’t answered. I tend to get really antsy when you’re left to decide for yourself how the movie really ended. There were also a bunch of things that weren’t explained specifically enough for me. Eep, I guess I really need certainty in my life haha.

I’m really glad I watched this movie finally, I definitely recommend it! Having really only seen Elisabeth Moss in Mad Men, it was cool to see her outside the role of Peggy (though she’s badass and I love her despite her flaws).

Upcoming reviews from me will be: Terminator 2 Judgment Day and Adaptation! (Omar probably won’t be reviewing these as he’s seen them long ago before me. It took me until this week to see these movies!)

