Liz: 3.9 (maybe 4 if I’m being nice) out of 5 stars

Now for a review of a movie that I had been reluctant about watching. Inglorious Basterds (2009) is  directed by Quentin Tarantino and stars a number of people including the incredible Christoph Waltz, Brad Pitt (always good), Melanie Laurent, Diane Kruger, Eli Roth, Michael Fassbender, and more. I had tried watching this movie when it first came out but I couldn’t quite get into it and gave up very early in. Since then, I’ve heard people say that they absolutely loved this movie, etc etc so of course I was curious to try it again. I finally got around to that a couple days ago! Though I had some issues with it, I liked it so much better than the first time and enjoyed it overall.

Quick summary: Inglorious Basterds is an alternate war history film that is about two separate assassination plots on Hitler and his top men- one by Shosanna (Laurent), a French Jewish woman whose family was murdered years before by SS Colonel Hans Landa (Waltz), and the other by Lieutenant Aldo Raine (Pitt) and his all Jewish-American soldiers. On to the review!

images (2)

ooooo That’s a bingo!

Undoubtedly, my favorite part of this movie was of course the performance of Christoph Waltz, which earned him his first Academy Award (Best Supporting Actor), amongst many other accolades. In my opinion, he definitely deserved it. It is clear that SS Colonel Hans Landa is an evil evil man. But what makes his character even more unnerving is his giggling, smile, and odd pleasantry. It was really fascinating how Waltz was able to convey both sides at the same time. He made it all look effortless and natural as well. At first, the sillier side to Waltz’s character didn’t convince me — he’s an evil Nazi and this more pleasant side to him is just unnecessary. But after thinking about it, I appreciate it more just because what the heck, this movie is an alternate history portrayal so whatever. Love you Christoph Waltz– definitely a memorable experience.

Next, this movie was simply gorgeous! There are so many examples of this, but the two particular scenes that I won’t ever forget are: when Shosanna is standing in the window of the theater at the end and also when Shosanna’s face is on the screen in flames:

images (1)

inglourious-basterds-movie-screenshots29The stills don’t do the scenes very much justice but I’ll explain a little further. The first image is pretty straightforward for me– it just looked so cool. The second image — Shosanna just looked awesome– the vividness of the red of her dress, her silence, etc etc — it just looked incredible on screen. I loved it! The accompanying music was also just so great (I love the music in Tarantino’s films).

The whole alternate history aspect of this movie is another favorite just because how cool would it have been if history was actually like that? The two assassination plots, but especially Shosanna’s, were so perfect and ridiculous and I enjoyed watching the two play out.

Now to the parts I didn’t like. Scenes were so drawn out at times, in particular the bar scene with Diane Kruger, Michael Fassbender, and co. and also the ending. It’s not that I thought they were bad scenes, they were just way too long for my taste and could have been cut down sooooo much, if there juts wasn’t so much TALKING. That’s the other thing I really didn’t like. The dialogue was waaaaay too much for me. I appreciate the witty banter that is so characteristic of Tarantino, but here, it was overwhelming and got boring after awhile.

Overall though, I don’t even know why I didn’t enjoy this movie when I first tried to watch it. Maybe I was just too young and distracted by something else. It was a fun film, definitely not a favorite Tarantino film for me but I liked it.

Upcoming review from me: A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night. 

