Liz: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Watchmen (2009), directed by Zack Snyder and starring Malin Akerman, Billy Crudup, Matthew Goode, Carla Gugino, Jackie Earle Haley, etc. was the first movie we watched in August! Omar’s seen this movie before and loved it. I’ve heard of it and had seen snippets of it on TV, but never saw the whole thing, so I was really excited to finally watch it. Overall, I loved everything about it!

Quick Summary: The film adaptation of the very famous DC Comics series of the same name, a group of retired American superheroes investigate a possible murder conspiracy against them.

I’ll being with the only reason why I didn’t give this movie 5 out of 5 stars. IT WAS TOO DAMN LONG. Granted, we did watch the extended cut version, but still the regular version is about 3 hours. I tend to get super antsy if I’ve been sitting for too long and I had to take a couple breaks throughout my viewing of it. Other than that, I’m a huge fan of this movie.

I haven’t actually seen any other Zack Snyder films to completion, but I have seen clips/ snippets of 300, Sin City, and Sucker Punch, and I’ve gotten a pretty good feel of what his filming style/ cinematography choices, etc are like. And I love it! I’m not very good at describing things so bear with, but I’m a huge fan of that kind of dark, dramatic and gritty atmosphere that translates perfectly into what is shown on screen. I also particularly enjoyed the opening credits that laid out the back story/ history of the Watchmen and how that was filmed.watchmen34

1360219-watchmen_window_rorschach

Another thing that I really liked about this movie was that it didn’t really seem like a superhero movie (though I love those, don’t get my wrong), but more like a detective/mystery movie. It was clear that the main characters were all superheroes, but there was obviously something more important to deal with — investigating the conspiracy against their group. The end scene where the mystery was solved, is so reminiscent of a mystery TV show where the detective rounds everyone up at the end and unveils who the bad guy was and why he/she did it. Also, though these folks were all in costume (or shining bright blue and butt naked), it wasn’t cheesy or weird at all.

Watchmen12_555pxBLOG

s/o to Archie, I want one for myself

Finally, the soundtrack was fantastic. Aside from just fitting the particular scene, the music also fit the time period very well. It was the perfect supplement to whatever drama, action, or romance scene that was going on.

I haven’t read the comic series but I definitely want to. I’ve heard people say that it’s a great adaptation, but others say it couldn’t do it justice, so I’ll just have to decide for myself!

Upcoming reviews: Inglorious Basterds and A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night. 

