Liz: 5 out of 5 stars

Omar picked this movie to watch one scorchingly hot afternoon and it was…. FANTASTIC. What We Do In The Shadows (2014) is a movie directed and written by two of its own actors, Taika Waititi and Jemaine Clement (Flight of the Conchords!!!). I only recently started hearing about this movie. I didn’t know too much about it other than that it was a comedy and that it was a must watch. I’m so glad Omar randomly chose this movie because it was such a light-hearted, silly, and genuinely hilarious experience watching it.

Quick Liz summary: This film is a mockumentary (these are always great) about a group of vampires (aha it gets better!) living together in Wellington, New Zealand and all the silly shenanigans they get into. Werewolves and other non-human entities run rampant as well! So much fun!

what-we-do-in-the-shadows

I found absolutely NOTHING wrong with this movie. Sure it’s not some seriously moving, inspiring movie, but it is definitely memorable and I would watch it over and over again in a heartbeat. I’ll begin by saying that I love anything that comes in mockumentary form. Mostly because the only other mockumentary type things I’ve ever seen are The Office and Parks and Recreation. I just absolutely love the subtle humor that comes out of a simple glance at the camera or something weird/ wrong happening in the background of another person doing a one-on-one interview.

This provides a good segue to the amazing characters in this film. I’ll start with Taika Waititi’s character Viago, a 379 year old vampire, who is kind of like the more moderate one in the flat. He leads the camera people around the house, giving odd introductions to his flatmates and showing them the weird parts of the house. His flatmates Vladislav (aged 862; played by Clement) and Deacon (the youngest, aged 183; played by Brugh) are equally, if not more, ridiculous. Their characters along with the other ones in the movie are all just so weird and not normal– from the way they talk, to the way they dress — that it’s so much fun to just watch. There’s a great scene (one of many) where they’re walking at night through the town of Wellington amongst normal humans and I could not stop laughing.

what-we-do-in-the-shadows1

There isn’t much to the story itself, but the antics that the characters get into are great and overall, it’s a film that doesn’t take itself too seriously at all, which I really appreciate. I love movies like this where seemingly stupid premises, characters, situations happen, but it just seems to work because that’s how good the directors and writers made it. If you haven’t seen it, you definitely need to watch it now – I guarantee you’ll enjoy it. I apologize for a rather short review, but I think that What We Do In the Shadows has so much humor that comes about unexpectedly while watching, and I really don’t want to ruin that for yall!

Upcoming review from me- Annie Hall! Omar is desperately behind, but he’ll be writing very soon! Forgive us, we both just started law school so there’s a lot of adjustment and reading we have to do but never fear! Our movie reviews will be here! … eventually.

